With a single, home run and the rare triple under his belt as he stepped to the plate in the seventh inning against the Colorado Rockies on Sunday, Ryan Howard was a double away from hitting for the cycle. Howard hit a ball to right field that was ruled a single and an error.
CSN Philly's Jim Salisbury reports the Phillies plan to ask Major League Baseball to review the play to see if it was in fact a double instead of a single and an error. Howard kept the baseball following the play just in case it is ruled a double and he does get his cycle.
Howard, 34, was batting .254/.351/.493 with four home runs and 10 RBIs in 19 games entering the series with the Dodgers last night. The first baseman has not played in more than 80 games since the 2011 season.
Follow Steve on Twitter @SDolan3
Follow Whiz Wit on Twitter @WhizWitSports